Techelsberg Community Centre on Lake Wörth
Competition, 1. Prize
spado architects and Architekt Ernst Roth
Photos: (c) Christian Brandstätter

 

BASIC IDEA

The aim of this project was to give the village of St. Martin am Techelsberg a “centre” and thus the Techelsberg on Lake Wörth municipality a localised identity.

URBAN DEVELOPMENT / PUBLIC SPACE

This new building functions as a space-forming element in the village, with visual relationships to its church, rectory, chaplaincy and pub.
Framed by the new community hall, a clearly defined open space is created – this central, full-scale square as the public space’s localised identity and focal point.
The assembly hall is conceived as a “landmark” at the architectural ensemble’s centre and is oriented towards the square and in line of sight of the south-eastern landscape. This connection accentuates the village’s identity-forming elements. The village square with its lime tree and viewing platform in the south form a multifunctional, continuous open space.

FUNCTIONS

All essential functions are located on the square level, while partial areas are accommodated in the basement. The building’s interior areas are closely interlocked with the exterior areas of the square, thus creating flowing transitions. The village square “merges” with the foyer, Citizens' Service and communication areas. The multi-purpose hall can be opened generously towards the square as an extended spectator area.
BUILDING ART

The new community centre positions itself self-confidently in this strongly contoured public space through its independent design vocabulary. In dialogue with its historical, evolved environment, a square area, a clearly defined village centre is being formed.
The community hall is a visible “landmark”, while the administrative areas with their extensive roof greenery recede into the background.

 

 

 
 
 
 











 



 
 

© by CISC, LLC. 2004

Gemeindezentrum Techelsberg am Wörther See

Geladener Realisierungswettbewerb, 1. Preis
spado architects und Architekt Ernst Roth
Fotos: (c) Christian Brandstätter

 

GRUNDIDEE
Zielsetzung des Projektes war es, der Ortschaft St. Martin am Techelsberg eine „Mitte“ und damit der Gemeinde Techelsberg am Wörther See eine verortete Identität zu geben.

STÄDTEBAU / ORTSRAUM
Der neue Baukörper fungiert raumbildend zum Ort, mit Blickbeziehungen zu Kirche, Pfarrhaus, Kaplanei und Gastwirtschaft.
Gefasst durch das neue Gemeindehaus entsteht als klar definierter Freiraum der zentrale, maßstäbliche Platz als verortete Identität und Angelpunkt des Ortsraumes.
Der Versammlungssaal ist als „Landmark“ inmitten des baulichen Ensembles konzipiert und orientiert sich zum Platz und in Blickrichtung südöstlicher Landschaftsraum. Durch diese Verbindung werden die identitätsstiftenden Elemente des Ortes akzentuiert. Der Dorfplatz mit Linde bildet mit der Aussichtsplattform im Süden einen multifunktionalen, durchgängigen Freiraum.

FUNKTIONEN
Alle wesentlichen Funktionen befinden sich auf Platzebene, Teilbereiche werden im Untergeschoß untergebracht. Die Innenbereiche des Gebäudes sind eng mit den Außenbereichen des Platzes verzahnt, es entstehen fließende Übergänge. Der Dorfplatz „verschmilzt“ mit den Bereichen Foyer, Bürgerservice und Kommunikation. Der Mehrzwecksaal kann großzügig zum Platz als erweiterten Zuseherraum hin geöffnet werden.

BAUKUNST
Das neue Gemeindehaus positioniert sich durch seine eigenständige Formensprache selbstbewußt im stark kupierten Ortsraum. Im Dialog mit dem historischen und gewachsenen Umfeld wird ein Platzraum, eine klar definierte Ortsmitte gebildet.
Der Gemeindesaal ist sichtbares „Landmark“, während die Verwaltungsbereiche mit ihrer extensiven Dachbegrünung in den Hintergrund treten.

 

 
 
 
 











 



 
 

© by CISC, LLC. 2004